Blog

  • How To Apply For A Marriage License In Hawaii

    December 18th 2015 - by admin

    Marriage License Fee: $60 (plus $5 administrative cost)

    Minimum Age: 18 years old

    License valid for 30 days

    Blood test, Residency or Witness are not required

    • The prospective applicants must prepare an official application and file the application in person with the marriage license agent. Applications are provided by the marriage license agent or may be .
    • The prospective applicants must appear together in person before a marriage license agent to apply for a marriage license.
    • The prospective applicants should be prepared to provide the necessary proof of age and present any required written consents and approvals. All of the necessary documents should be obtained prior to applying for a marriage license.
    • The prospective applicants must prepare an official application and file the application in person with the marriage license agent. The application may be completed . The application will not be accepted if sent by either postal mail or e-mail.
    • Upon approval, a marriage license is issued at the time the application is made.
    • The marriage license is good only in, but is valid throughout, the State of Hawaii.

    Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

    Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

    Health Department Building
    1250 Punchbowl St., Rm. 101, 1st Fl.
    (corner of Beretania and Punchbowl Streets)
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
    Ph: 808.586.4545
    8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. / M – F (except for Court Approved Holidays)

    • To be legal, marriage must be performed by a Hawaii licensed officiant.

    Proof of Age

    • A certified copy of a birth certificate must be presented for anyone 18 and under.
    • For anyone 19 and over, proof of age may be requested in the form of an I.D. or driver’s license.

    Waiting Period in Hawaii:

    There is no waiting period to get married in Hawaii.

    Residency Requirement:

    There are no residence or citizenship requirements.

    Previous Marriages:

    If previously married, proof of original divorce decree or death certificate needs to be presented to the marriage agent by the applicant if the divorce or death was final within 30 days of applying for a marriage license.

    Marriage License Fees in Hawaii:

    The fee for a license is $60.00 (plus $5.00 portal administrative cost) payable in cash at the time of filing the application.

    Proxy Marriages:

    No.

    Cousin Marriages:

    Yes, cousins may marry, but a blood relationship between the prospective bride and bridegroom cannot be closer than first cousins.

    Common Law Marriages:

    No.

    Blood test in Hawaii:

    No. Hawaii does not require blood tests.

    Name Change:

    Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

    Under 18:

    • If you are 16 or 17 years of age, you must have the written consent of both of your parents, legal guardian, or the family court.
    • If you are 15 years old, you will not only need the written consent of both of your parents or legal guardian, but also the written approval of a judge of the family court.
    • The parents or guardian do not have to reside in the state.
    • Consent forms may be obtained from the marriage license agent.

    Officiants in Hawaii:

    The marriage performers must be commissioned by the State of Hawaii, Department of Health.

    Witnesses:

    No witnesses are required.

    License Validity Time:
    • The marriage license is good only in, but is valid throughout, the State of Hawaii.
    • The marriage license expires 30 days from and including the date of issuance, after which it automatically becomes null and void.

    Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

    State Department of Health
    Office of Health Status Monitoring
    Issuance/Vital Statistics Section
    P.O. Box 3378
    Honolulu, HI 96801

    Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Hawaii marriage license laws please visit www.health.hawaii.gov.


    Read More